Finnish driver Hirvonen couldn't even start celebrating his WRC Portugal leg victory.

World of motor sports at a glance
Posted 03.04.2012 13:00:59 UTC
Updated 03.04.2012 13:00:59 UTC

Hirvonen has been stripped of victory as his car failed the post-event scrutineering. As the clutch of his car did not conform to the rules Hirvonen lost both the Portugal leg and the overall leadership. The decision ensures that the defending world champion Loeb retains the lead. Norwegian Mads Ostberg was handed the Portugal leg victory.

Ryan Newman won the 6th leg of the 2012 NASCAR season Goody's Fast Relief 500 races. Newman taking advantage of the pileup with 2 laps to go came up from behind. He never looked back later on and won the race.

Australian driver Will Power won the Indy GP competition held in Alabama. Power starting the race as the 9th took over the leadership with 16 stage remaining to the finish line. Leading up to the last stage Power took the checkered flag first 3,37 seconds ahead of his closest rival.

At the European Le Mans season opener, Mathias Beche et Pierre Thiriet from French team TDS became the winners. ORECA-Nissan drivers completed the race in first place with 6 hrs 53 sec.

The last champion Yvan Muller of France claimed his victory at the first of the World Touring Car Races held in Valencia. Muller was the leader of the whole race where he had started in the pole position. Alain Menu won the 2nd round. Muller tops the overall standings with 88 points.